Diversity Spotlight Thursday| Nov. 10, 2016

Diversity Spotlight Thursday is a weekly feature hosted by Aimal at Bookshelves and Paperbacks. For more information on this meme please CLICK HERE 

To take part all you need to do is answer the following questions:

  1. A diverse book you have read and enjoyed
  2. A diverse book that has already been released but you have not read
  3. A diverse book that has not yet been released

A Book I have read

A Hundred thousand Words by Nyrae Dawn


One of my favourite diverse reads goes to A Hundred Thousand Words. Interracial love between two guys.  It also doesn’t stop there, it talks about a lot of things; from kids having no idea what they want to be in life to anxiety. It’s a great book and I gave it 4 stars.  

Blurb: Tobias Jackson grew up in Coburn, a town where the gay population equaled exactly one: him. Add that to the fact that his dream guy was his best friend’s jerky older brother Levi Baxter, and it made hooking up virtually impossible.

Now home from college for winter break, Toby is a different person. He left Coburn for San Francisco, where he wasn’t the lone gay guy and the only black kid in town. And yeah, he took advantage of what the city had to offer.

Apparently Toby isn’t the only one who’s changed. Levi’s not acting like the self-centered guy with all the answers that Toby remembers from growing up. Oh and Levi’s realized he’s bisexual, which makes things a lot more interesting…

Heading back to college, Toby doesn’t expect to meet up with Levi again, despite him being in med school not far away. A surprise visit from Levi blows that assumption out of the water. As they spend more time together Toby sees Levi as more than just the fantasy. He’s complicated, unsure…he’s real. But if Toby can’t get out of the past and find the words he keeps locked inside himself, he’ll lose his chance at Levi for good.

A gay, new adult, interracial romance.

A Book on my TBR

Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo 

The Characters in this seems to be well diversed, from what I can tell from fan art I’ve seen.

This one seems to be really popular and hyped books make me a little skeptical, but I want to read this someday. 

Blurb:Ketterdam: a bustling hub of international trade where anything can be had for the right price—and no one knows that better than criminal prodigy Kaz Brekker. Kaz is offered a chance at a deadly heist that could make him rich beyond his wildest dreams. But he can’t pull it off alone…

A convict with a thirst for revenge
A sharpshooter who can’t walk away from a wager
A runaway with a privileged past
A spy known as the Wraith
A Heartrender using her magic to survive the slums
A thief with a gift for unlikely escapes

Kaz’s crew are the only ones who might stand between the world and destruction—if they don’t kill each other first.

A Book that has not yet been released

The Blazing Star by Imani Josey

Firstly, look at how gorgeous the cover is! It’s just stunning! The cover was what caught my eyes but I have to say, the blurb grabbed me by the neck and said “you better read me or else!” This comes out in December, so I think it would be a great Christmas present. 

Blurb: Sixteen-year-old Portia White is used to being overlooked—after all, her twin sister Alex is a literal genius.

But when Portia holds an Egyptian scarab beetle during history class, she takes center stage in a way she never expected: she faints. Upon waking, she is stronger, faster, and braver than before. And when she accidentally touches the scarab again?

She wakes up in ancient Egypt—her sister and an unwitting freshman in tow.

Great.

Mysterious and beautiful, Egypt is more than they could have ever imagined from their days in the classroom. History comes alive as the three teens realize that getting back to the present will be the most difficult thing they’ve ever done. Stalked by vicious monsters called Scorpions, every step in the right direction means a step closer to danger.

As Portia and the girls discover that they’re linked to the past by more than just chance, they have to decide what it truly means to be yourself, to love your sister, and to find your way home.


I think this is an awesome meme and that we do need more diverse books. Because readers need to be represented and feel like they are indeed important too. 


~Keeana

Follow me on:TwitterGoodreadsTumblr

27 thoughts on “Diversity Spotlight Thursday| Nov. 10, 2016

  1. Six of Crows is one of my favorite YA series! The characters are incredibly diverse, but so well fleshed-out, nuanced and wonderful. We have a disabled protagonist, a brown character, a black character who is also bisexual, a character with dyslexia who is gay and a bi girl. I hope you get to it soon! 😀
    I’ve never heard about A Hundred Thousand Words before, but it sounds wonderful! Just added it to my TBR. 😀

    Like

    1. I suck at explaining things and I’m going to try my best. With Six of Crows, every chapter starts with a name and you’ll be in that person’s POV, and the plot doesn’t change, it actually remains the same, just coming from that person’s eyes. I hope that make senses.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I follow a lot of book accounts on tumblr and you can always see them crying about a ending. Can’t really escape it. I try not to read them but my eyes would sometimes catch a certain word. One of the cons of not always picking up a book the same time it comes out.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Oh yes, same thing on twitter. I got spoiled for Throne of Glass series (I haven’t even start reading the 1st book) and I got spoiled on Empire of Storms. I am surprised though, that I haven’t got spoiled on other popular books like Cinder, A Darker Shade of Magic, etc.

        Liked by 1 person

      3. I’ve avoided everything about TOG. I don’t even know what it’s about. I don’t plan on reading Cinder because tbh it doesn’t interests me. maybe one day I’ll read it but I don’t think I will anytime soon. I haven’t seen any spoilers for it either nor for ADSOM.

        Liked by 1 person

      4. I have ACOTAR and plans to read them sometimes next year as my reading challenge. If I like it enough, I’m planning on getting ACOMAF and the 3rd book.

        Like

  2. The Blazing Star is already on my TBR and I can’t wait to get my hands on it the cover is STUNNING and the inside sounds even better XD I hadn’t heard of A Hundred Thousand words but it sounds great so I’m adding it to my TBR 🙂

    Great Post!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

