Book Review: A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

Publisher: Bloomsbury Chrildren’s

Release Date: May 5, 2015 

Genre: YA, Fantasy, Romance, New Adult

Ratings: 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟

Blurb: Feyre is a huntress. 

She thinks nothing of slaughtering a wolf to capture its prey. But, like all mortals, she fears what lingers mercilessly beyond the forest. And she will learn that taking the life of a magical creature comes at a high price…

Imprisoned in an enchanted court in her enemy’s Kingdom. Feyre is free roam but forbidden to escape. Her captor’s body bears the scars of fighting, and his face is always masked – but his piercing stare draws her ever closeread.  As Feyre’s feelings for Tamlin begin to burn through every warning she’s been told about his kind, an ancient, wicked shadow grows. 

Feyre must find a way to break a spell, or lose her heart forever. 


Absolutely amazing! Nothing short of amazing. 

I have to admit, I went into this one blind. I had no idea it was a retelling of Beauty and the Beast,  and it took me a long while before I even realised (I should be ashamed). I hadn’t read the blurb, I just knew it was one of those hyped books. The cover is what actually caught my eyes and I just knew I had to have it. 

I think it’s pretty well known that fairy tale retellings are my absolute favourite when it comes to YA. So, when I finally picked up on the fact that it was a Beauty and the Beast retelling, I couldn’t contain my excitement and I was hell-bent on devouring this book.

What I liked:

  • The Characters: I loved Tamlin. I loved Feyre. I LOVED LUCIEN. I loved Rhysand. I even liked Amarantha,  she’s one of those villains that are written so well you can’t help but love them.
  • The World Building: The story took place in two settings; the Spring Court and Under the Mountain, where Amarantha resides. I had fun reading the change in setting when it was time to get down and dirty but I also loved reading about Feyre’s time in the Spring court. I found it intriguing that it was always Spring in the Spring Court ( it wouldn’t be called that if it wasn’t, now would it?). 
  • The Relationship between the Characters: Do I dare say my favourite relationship was the Feyre/Lucien ship? I adored their growing friendship and the funny banter between them. Lucien is such a cotton ball that deserves to be protected. I enjoyed Feyre’s “relationship” with Rhysand in the end. I do believe if it wasn’t for Rhysand she would be dead the moment she faced Amarantha. Even though Rhysand was supposed to be a secondary villain, I couldn’t help but see him as much more than that. 
  • Sexy Time: Yes, I said it. I enjoyed how sexy A Court of Thorns and Roses was. I liked that Sarah didn’t shy away from making the book sexy because of it being a YA novel. Authors tend to shy away from sex in YA. I mean, you don’t need to make it graphic but still.  


What I didn’t like: 

  • The ending: I feel like the ending was rushed (but that’s just me). 
  • Tamlin/Feyre Relationship: Don’t get me wrong, I love Tamlin but for some reason their relationship felt a little off to me. The second half of the book even made it feel even more off. Tamlin got way too angry at times, trying to calm down before he snaps at Feyre; I wouldn’t want to be in a relationship with a ticking time bomb. If anything, I liked them as friends more. 
  • Feyres family: God, I hated them. That is all I have to say about them. 


Even though I didn’t like some parts, it didn’t take away the fact that I REALLY enjoyed it and ACOTAR deserves every star and more.

~Keeana


Follow me on: TwitterGoodreadsTumblr

9 thoughts on “Book Review: A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

    1. Oh! I’ve read it. after I was finished with Thorns and Roses I devoured Mist and Fury, it was absolutely amazing! word can’t explain how I feel about it. I still wrote this review about how I initially felt after I read it.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Wait!!! Hold up.. this is a Beauty and the Beast retelling!!? How did I miss that fact? I love retellings. I had sort of brushed this off, afraid it would not live up to expectations with all of the commotion, but now it is back in my pile! Great review ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

