Book Review: Been Here All Along by Sandy Hall

Publisher: Swoon Reads

Release Date: August 30, 2016

Genre: YA, LGBT, Contemporary, Romance

Ratings: ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ

Blurb: Gideon always has a plan. His plans include running for class president, becoming head of the yearbook committee, and having his choice of colleges. They do NOT include falling head over heels for his best friend and next door neighbor, Kyle. Itโ€™s a distraction. Itโ€™s pointless, as Kyle is already dating the gorgeous and popular head cheerleader, Ruby. And Gideon doesnโ€™t know what to do.

Kyle finally feels like he has a handle on life. He has a wonderful girlfriend, a best friend willing to debate the finer points of Lord of the Rings, and social acceptance as captain of the basketball team. Then, both Ruby and Gideon start acting really weird, just as his spot on the team is threatened, and Kyle canโ€™t quite figure out what he did wrongโ€ฆ


This was a quick, fun read and was over before I even knew it. 

Been Here All Along is told in four POVs which are Gideon, Kyle, Ezra which is Gideon’s brother and Kyle’s girlfriend Ruby. I liked the shift between POVs except for when it came on to Ruby because she’s such an A-hole (yea, I said it). I thought I was going to hate Ezra because of the way the book started, but he’s such a sweetheart and an awesome brother. 

Sometimes it was hard to tell them apart because even though it was told in different POVs, it still felt like the same person. Except for Ruby, you can definitely tell the little conniving son of a ***** apart from the rest. 

I thought it was interesting the way Gideon figured out how he felt about Kyle and his reaction to the new knowledge was absolutely hilarious. 

Kyle’s realisation was also adorable but I felt like there was no real depth to his feelings. Maybe it was easier to come to terms because he and Gideon have been friends for so long.  

The author also tried to make me sympathise with Ruby but I just hate her so much and everything is just her fault, and not even her problems would let me feel sorry for her. 

The drama was so anticlimatic, that when it was over I was like “that’s it? Are you sure?” But maybe that was for the best, somethings aren’t meant to be blown out of proportion.

Overall, this was a nice read.

~Keeana 

Follow me on:TwitterGoodreadsTumblr

3 thoughts on “Book Review: Been Here All Along by Sandy Hall

  1. Yeah, this one just sounds like the typical “I didn’t know I loved you but I do” books…been done. I’m just not a fan of the theme. Needs some magic for me! Or robots. Bring me some killer robots and I’m all over it. ๐Ÿ˜‚
    I’m glad you enjoyed it, and apparently want to kill Ruby, lol.

    Like

Leave a Reply

