Book Review: Obsidian (Lux #1) by Jennifer L. Armentrout 


Publisher: Entangled: Teen

Release Date: May 8, 2012

Genre: YA, Fantasy, Romance, SciFi

Ratings: 🌟🌟🌟🌟


Blurb: Starting over sucks.

When we moved to West Virginia right before my senior year, I’d pretty much resigned myself to thick accents, dodgy internet access, and a whole lot of boring… until I spotted my hot neighbor, with his looming height and eerie green eyes. Things were looking up.

And then he opened his mouth.

Daemon is infuriating. Arrogant. Stab-worthy. We do not get along. At all. But when a stranger attacks me and Daemon literally freezes time with a wave of his hand, well, something… unexpected happens. 

The hot alien living next door marks me.

You heard me. Alien. Turns out Daemon and his sister have a galaxy of enemies wanting to steal their abilities, and Daemon’s touch has me lit up like the Vegas Strip. The only way I’m getting out of this alive is by sticking close to Daemon until my alien mojo fades. 

If I don’t kill him first, that is.



First, let me just say I’ve been personally victimised by Jennifer Armentrout and her Covenant series. She gave me second male lead syndrome only to break my heart. 

Anyway, this is my first time reading about aliens, I usually shy away from books with them but I loved Armentrout’s Covenant series so I decided to give this a try.

It’s no secret that I love asshole male leads, because they’re usually such softies on the inside. And Daemon was such a softie. God, I loved him! I loved his motives, his assholery, the way he talked to the heroine and how protective he is of his sister. 

The heroine kind of annoyed me, I’m not sure why. I still loved her though. I liked the way she interacted with the other characters especially with Daemon and Dee. I found her a little stupid as well, she did something really stupid in the first half of the book and I was like 

She’s also a brave character so, I forgave her for her stupidity. 

I like the book the most whenever they were at school. I miss the old days when paranormal books still took place in high schools instead of boarding schools (boarding school paranormal novels are my weakness but still). It was so fun reading about how the heroine interacted with “normal” people. The side characters were interesting. 

I liked getting to know more about Daemon and the kind of alien he is. I thought it was really interesting! I found his genetic makeup really fascinating. 

I thought the villains were kind of lacking, hopefully book 2 will shed some more light on them. Oh! The action! The fight scenes were epic! I can’t wait to read more.

Two words “SEXUAL TENSION” there was so much sexual tension between the hero and heroine, I couldn’t breathe while reading! Ha. I was so desperate to find out how they’d handle it. Sadly, the book ended. 

And that ending!! What was that? Why Jennifer, why?! 

I can’t wait to read book two and knowing Jennifer that’s when she’ll give me second male lead syndrome again, the blurb for book 2 already made that clear. 


Have you read Obsidian? What are your thoughts? 

~Keeana 

Follow me on: TwitterGoodreads

6 thoughts on “Book Review: Obsidian (Lux #1) by Jennifer L. Armentrout 

Leave a Reply

