Book Review: Art & Soul by Brittainy C. Cherry

 

Instasize_0315111031Publisher: Self Published 

Release Date: April 20, 2015

Genre: YA, Contemporary

Ratings: 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟


Blurb: I had always been the invisible art student in high school.  Passed by. Glossed over. Unnoticed. Now I was Aria Watson… that girl.

After one bad decision, and being labeled a slut, I was no longer unseen. I was the whore. The ignoramus. The tramp.

I would never be invisible again.

Particularly to Levi Myers. He was the odd boy with the beautiful soul who accepted and understood the broken girl inside me.

Falling in love wasn’t the plan. But how could I resist his promises of hope? Of forgiveness? Of a future I had stopped dreaming of?

We were shattered. We were scarred. We were something strange and beautiful.

We were two lost souls holding on to the only thing that could keep us together.

Each other. 


I’ve been in a reading slump for the past week since finishing Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe (ReviewHere) because I thought I’d never find another book as awesome as Aristotle. I wasDEAD wrong! 

I’ve had Art & Soul on my kindle for the longest, even longer than Aristotle. I’m not sure what took me so long to read it, maybe it was blurb? Anyway, I decided to get out of my reading slump with Art & Soul and boy, was I in for an emotional ride.

You see that beautiful cover? Yea, that cover! It tells you nothing of what’s inside this masterpiece of a book. 

How do you review a book without giving away anything? I definitely don’t want to, the blurb certainly didn’t. I was pretty much blindsided by the blurb, I had no idea what I was getting into.

Okay, now on to my review. Art & Soul is told in both Aria’s and Levi’s POV, which I considered to be an awesome move by the author. I’m glad I got to know each main characters story being told by them and not by one person who thinks they know how the other is feeling. 


Aria Watson is…. that girl, the artsy, invisible girl who nobody really pays attention to. Good grades, good daughter and all, after one bad decision her life was about to change, forever. 

Let me just say how much I loved Aria’s character. She was so open, so true to herself, she was strong-willed and that was so refreshing to see in a high school romance novel. 

I loved how she handled her situation, knowing how it affected those around her. Knowing that things will never be the same and that she wasn’t the same person she was a while back. The decisions she made was so brave and awesome but also heartbreaking. 

On to her relationship with Levi. Oh boy, did I love their growing friendship. I loved how she slowly opened up to Levi, I loved their little moments together. But you know what I really loved? How there were no stupid misunderstandings between them that are normally found in these kind of novels. She didn’t listen to the rumours that were said about him. I loved watching her fall for Levi. 

Levi Myers, the blurb did not lie when it said he had a beautiful soul.  This guy will go down as one of my favourite book boyfriends. Levi is so strong, so beautiful, so weird and I loved everything about the beautiful, odd boy. He did not take to the social norms of high school and I loved it! 

This boy was going through a lot and I mean a lot, I don’t know how he was able to be happy through all that was going on in his life. He indeed had a beautiful soul. 

I loved reading from his POV the most because it’s always nice to read from the male and getting to know how they really feel about the heroine.

He was so open about his feelings for her, holding nothing back. I loved how her situation didn’t stop him from falling for her, if anything, it probably made him fall even harder.  I loved his nickname for her, which I thought was really cute.

The side characters were really refreshing. I loved Simon. I loved Awkward Abigail. I loved Aria’s sister, Grace and her mother, her father not so much but I still liked him, her brother was okay too. Levi’s parents were a little harder to like but I liked them nonetheless. His uncle, Lance was loveable and funny and I liked his wife, Daisy. 

Like every other book, there needs to be a villain or two. God, I hated Tori and James. I don’t even know who I hate more. Tori doesn’t show up a lot but that one time she did show up I wanted to drop kick her and start pounding on her face. The bullying wasn’t severe through out the whole book except for that one time with Tori and her Clique and boy did I want to cry. I felt for Aria. Now, James just needed to be slapped around a couple of times, even when the book ended and the issue was resolved, I still hated him. The way he went about the situation was so wrong but I think I can kind of sympathise with him. 

This book made me realise teens don’t get nearly as much credit as they should. I can’t even imagine being seventeen and going through what they have been through.

It made me laugh, cry, laugh and cry some more. It’s so beautifully written that it isn’t fair. 

There’s this part of the book that I really felt like sharing so you guys can get a glimpse of what’s on the inside and how beautiful it is.

 

 

We were trying our best to live in the here and now, in the darkness together. We were so broken. We were so worn out by the lives we lived, but tonight we kissed with the broken pieces. We kissed with the fear. We kissed with the anger. We kissed with everything we had inside us. And then we kissed some more. We grew tired together, creating our own kind of art. We became the masterpieces of the loneliest souls. The colors in both of our eyes bled out, knowing that sometimes the most beautiful pieces of art were created from the darkest of souls.

Beautiful, right?

So, this book was an amazing roller coaster ride and I’d recommend everyone to read it.

~Keeana

Follow me on: TwitterGoodreads

7 thoughts on “Book Review: Art & Soul by Brittainy C. Cherry

Leave a Reply

