Book Review: The Way to Game the Walk of Shame by Jenn P. Nguyen

Publisher: Swoon Reads

Release Date: June 7, 2016

Genre: YA, Romance, Contemporary 

Rating: 🌟🌟🌟🌟

Blurb: Taylor Simmons is screwed.

Things were hard enough when her single-minded dedication to her studies earned her the reputation of being an Ice Queen, but after getting drunk at a party and waking up next to bad boy surfer Evan McKinley, the entire school seems intent on tearing Taylor down with mockery and gossip.
Desperate to salvage her reputation, Taylor persuades Evan to pretend they’re in a serious romantic relationship. After all, it’s better to be the girl who tames the wild surfer than just another notch on his surfboard.

With a name like “Walk of Shame” I thought this book would be a bit more dark and heavy, instead I got a fun, romantic high school novel that will be going down as one of my favourites in the genre. 

What I liked about “The Way to Game the Walk of Shame” :

  • Taylor! I loved Taylor, she’s such a fun character to get to know. I loved her the moment I began the book.
  • Fake relationship concept. I’m a sucker for the Fake boyfriend and girlfriend trope in books. What I really loved was the contract she made. 
  • Evan!!! My book boyfriend Evan! I’m absolutely in love with this guy. He’s funny, hot and not to mention he’s a surfer  (I’m in love with surfer guys) 
  • The interaction between Taylor and Evan. When smart meets witty. The dialogues between the two are always funny and sweet. 
  • Taylor’s sister (read and you’ll get what I mean) 
  • Taylor’s dad. I love that man. The relationship between Taylor and her dad reminds me of the relationship I have with my mom and that’s a good thing. 
  • The dynamics if the high school pyramid 

What I disliked about this book 

  • It ended (cries) 


This was a fun and wonderful read, also age appropriate to be called a YA. I’d recommend this to those who love high school romances and those who love the fake the relaionship trope (like me). I’d pretty much recommend to everyone lol.

_______________________________

Have you read “The Way to Game the Walk of Shame”?  What are your thoughts on it? 

-Keeana 

3 thoughts on “Book Review: The Way to Game the Walk of Shame by Jenn P. Nguyen

Leave a Reply

