Book Review: Tales from Foster High by John Goode

Publisher: Harmony Ink Press

Release Date: July 30, 2012

Genres: LGBT, Romance

Rating: 🌟🌟🌟🌟
Blurb: Kyle Stilleno is the invisible student, toiling through high school in the middle of Nowhere, Texas. Brad Greymark is the baseball start of Foster High. When they both bond over their mutual damage during a night of history tutoring, Kyle thinks maybe his life has changed for good. But the promise of fairy tale love is a lie when your gay and falling for the most popular boy in school



Tales from Foster High is a compilation of previously released short stories. It follows the lives of Kyle and Brad as they come to terms with their sexuality and feelings for each other.

I loved this book! I loved Kyle! I loved Brad and I also loved how the minor characters played their own individual role to bring the story to life.

Since the book comes in three parts I’ll be reviewing each part separately.

_____________________________

Part 1:  “Kyle History Whore” or previously known as “Maybe with a Chance of Certainty


I don’t remember the moment I knew I was broken… but I do know the moment I began to feel fixed. It was the day the green eyed boy fell in love with me.

swoon worthy much? This part of the book was told in Kyle’s POV. I fell in love with Kyle the moment his monologue started. I could tell he was gonna be a witty talker and fun character to get to know. Now Kyle’s life was pretty messed up, with an alcoholic abusive mother who was never sober and was unpredictable. He didn’t help that he was socially awkward either, if his life wasn’t hard enough; being gay was definitely the icing on the cake.

Kyle pretty much spent most of his life being that invisible kid. He was smart, had good grades, highest GPA in the school and he was content on living like that until he was done with High school. That is until he met Brad Greymark; popular, sexy as hell Jock and top of the social pyramid. Brad had ask Kyle to Tutor him in History so he could pass the class or he’d be off the baseball team, Kyle agreed. They hit it off instantly. But it’s not easy falling for the most popular guy in school.

I was so attached to Kyle that every emotion he felt, I could feel myself feeling them as well. Goode’s writing brought Kyle alive, he was realistic and it made relating to him a lot easier.

_____________________________

Part 2:  “Brad 81 Cents” or previously  released as “The End of the Beginning

“I want to be with you. You, Kyle,” I said, pointing at him. “And I may screw up, and I may be stupid, but I am never going to let you be alone.”


Can you feel the love? Lol. As you can probably tell by the title, this part of the book was told in the POV of Brad and this is where we get to read about his struggles, his life and why he’s also damaged. We learn about his fears and what he wants out of life.

I can guarantee when you read the first part of the book you’ll like Brad but when you read this, you’re gonna downright fall in love with him and learn that even though he’s at the top of the social pyramid, he’s also human and can hurt. We see him come to terms that he’s different and that he might just be okay with that.

Brad is definitely boyfriend worthy! 

_____________________________

Part 3: “Brad and Kyle Ordinance No. C-3240” or previously released as “Raise Your Glass

I can’t tell you the day I started to lose who I was but I can tell you the very moment I found who I really was. It was the moment the blue eyed boy kissed me back.

This is where we come in contact with a whole bunch of homophobia and discrimination. From peers to authority figures. This is told from both boys POV and was really well written.

We see the boys going through the different forms of homophobia; verbal, physical and emotional. Even to point of discrimination where Brad might not be able to play baseball anymore cause it only makes sense right? Now that he’s openly gay he’s gonna want all the straight guys on the team right? He’s gonna openly eye his teammates and want to touch them right?

We see Brad struggling to come to terms with the fact that he might be stuck in this town forever even might actually become like his father and that’s something Brad doesn’t want. This is the part of the book that the boys realise they are gonna need each other more than ever.

Kyle is still witty and funny as ever but we see him standing up to homophobes and getting pissed at the guys who hurt Brad. This is where Kyle was done with the bullshit.

This is where Brad realises a lot of important things and how high school isn’t all that people makes it out to be and it should be better. He realises he was a douche and wants to fix that. Great character development on Brad’s part.

We see the boys’ family intervening with the matter at school and sticking up for their little boys.

We see the homophobes be put in their place.

We see this book come to a beautiful pause because we all know this isn’t the end of Kyle and Brad’s journey.

_____________________________

This book was a beautiful, heartfelt journey. I’d recommend this book to everyone, because why not? It tackles a lot of life problems not just homophobia. This book should be on everyone’s to read list!

~Keeana

Follow me on: TwitterGoodreadsTumblr

Leave a Reply

